The Replacements

Bob Mehr on The Replacements & Opinions on Solange

The Replacements never had a hit song, but few bands have inspired such a deep personal connection with their fans. Bob Mehr, author of the new biography Trouble Boys, speaks with Jim and Greg about the heartbreaking story and enduring legacy of the Minneapolis band. Plus, a review of the new album from Solange and a look at the sample driving Drake's "Hotline Bling."

Subscribe via iTunesDownload This Episode

Bob Mehr on The Replacements

Trouble Boys The mythology of The Replacements can overshadow the actual music – from their infamously volatile live shows, to their wild drinking, to Paul Westerberg's legendary songwriting genius, and to their commerial ailures. But author Bob Mehr reveals a more complicated story of the Minneapolis band in his new book Trouble Boys: The True Story of The Replacements. As he explains to Jim and Greg, Bob traces much of The Mats' personality to their troubled upbringings, particularly that of guitarist Bob Stinson. Though the band's records from the early '80s were influenced by hardcore punk, Westerberg always had a latent sensitive side that fully emerged on the 1984 masterpiece (and Classic Album Dissection recipient) Let It Be. The Replacements signed to a major label for the 1985 album Tim, but Bob describes a combination of self-destruction and bad timing that ultimately kept the band off the charts. The Replacements broke up in 1991, but its influence was soon heard all over the alternative rock explosion. The enormous crowds at the band's recent reunion shows are testament to the enormous impact the music has had on generations of fans, even if that big hit song always eluded them.


Sample Platter: Drake's "Hotline Bling"

It's time for another installment of Sample Platter, where Jim and Greg take a look at a contemporary chart topper that prominently features a unique sample. This week, they analyze Drake's "Hotline Bling," a song first released in July of 2015 and hasn't left the charts since. The main sample in the track is Timmy Thomas's 1972 hit "Why Can't We Live Together," a song that relies on minimal instrumentation and vocals, driven primarily by a rhythmic organ beat. Jim and Greg discuss how Drake used the Timmy Thomas song to create a new piece of music with a completely different message and vibe.

reviewA Seat at the TableA Seat at the Table available on iTunes

Solange A Seat at the Table

Let's just get this part out of the way: Solange is the younger sister of Beyoncé. But that is where the comparisons end. Solange's new album A Seat at the Table is her 3rd studio album was produced by the noted R&B and neo-soul mastermind Raphael Saadiq. This is a protest album addressing elements of the Black Lives Matter movement. While it is an album with a political message Greg says it is a not a knock-out punch, it is much more subtle with a message of being“weary of the world.”While Solange's voice is beautiful and delicate, Greg says her voice is also strong. Jim also hears Solange's weariness and notes how it contrasts to the anger of sister Beyonce's Lemonade. A Seat at the Table gets a double-Buy It.


Featured Songs

  1. The Replacements, I Will Dare, Let It Be, Twin/Tone, 1984
  2. The Replacements, Shutup (Demo), Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash, Twin/Tone, 1981
  3. The Replacements, Takin' a Ride, Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash, Twin/Tone, 1981
  4. The Replacements, Hangin' Downtown, Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash, Twin/Tone, 1981
  5. The Replacements, Dope Smokin' Moron, Stink, Twin/Tone, 1982
  6. The Replacements, Johnny's Gonna Die, Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash, Twin/Tone, 1981
  7. The Replacements, Within Your Reach, Hootenanny, Twin/Tone, 1983
  8. The Replacements, Unsatisfied, Let It Be, Twin/Tone, 1984
  9. The Replacements, Iron Man, The Shit Hits the Fans, Twin/Tone, 1985
  10. The Replacements, Bastards of Young (Live on SNL), Tim, Sire, 1985
  11. The Replacements, Left of the Dial, Tim, Sire, 1985
  12. The Replacements, Here Comes a Regular, Tim, Sire, 1985
  13. The Replacements, Can't Hardly Wait, Pleased to Meet Me, Sire, 1987
  14. The Replacements, The Ledge, Pleased to Meet Me, Sire, 1987
  15. The Replacements, I'll Be You, Don't Tell a Soul, Sire, 1989
  16. Green Day, She, Dookie, Reprise, 1994
  17. Goo Goo Dolls, Name, A Boy Named Goo, Warner Bros., 1995
  18. Wilco, Misunderstood, Being There, Reprise, 1996
  19. The Replacements, Color Me Impressed, Hootenanny, Twin/Tone, 1983
  20. Drake, Hotline Bling, Views, Cash Money, 2015
  21. Timmy Thomas, Why Can't We Live Together, Why Can't We Live Together, Glades, 1972
  22. D.R.A.M., Cha Cha, #1Epic, Atlantic, 2015
  23. Solange, Don't Touch My Hair, A Seat at the Table, Saint, 2016
  24. Solange, Cranes in the Sky, A Seat at the Table, Saint, 2016
  25. Solange, Weary, A Seat at the Table, Saint, 2016
  26. Solange, Interlude: Tina Taught Me, A Seat at the Table, Saint, 2016
  27. Solange, Interlude: No Limits, A Seat at the Table, Saint, 2016
  28. The Replacements, Alex Chilton, Pleased to Meet Me, Sire, 1987
  29. Glitterish, Operator, Transparent, Amazon, 2014
  30. Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, A Taste of Honey, Whipped Cream & Other Delights, A&M, 1965
  31. Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass, Whipped Cream, Whipped Cream & Other Delights, A&M, 1965
  32. The Police, When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What's Still Around, Zenyatta Mondatta, A&M, 1980
  33. Computer Magic, Bionic Man, Davos, Channel 9, 2015

Footnotes Trouble Boys The Replacements Let It Be Classic Album Dissection Greg on The Replacments' breakup Jim's Replacements reunion review Drake Hotline Bling Hotline Bling analysis Conversation with Timmy Thomas D.R.A.M. on Drake More